Skip to main content

NUANCE: Nanoscale Characterization Experimental Center

Advanced TEM Short Course

Dr. Nigel Browning & Dr. Layla Mehdi

November 5-7, 2018

Location: 4003 Ryan Hall (and TEM labs)

Register here!




November 5

Atomic Scale Imaging and Analysis in STEM

November 5

Experimental Z-contrast and EELS  (ARM 200, Maximum 4 students)

November 6

Low-Dose and High Speed STEM Imaging: Theory and Practicalities

November 6

How to realize low dose imaging in STEM mode? (ARM 200, Maximum 4 students)

November 7

Quantified in-Situ Electrochemistry

November 7

Low dose imaging in the liquid environment (ARM 300, Maximum 4 students)

Nigel BrowningDr. Nigel Browning is currently the Chair of Electron Microscopy in the School of Engineering and the School of Physical Sciences at the University of Liverpool. He received his undergraduate degree in Physics from the University of Reading, U. K. and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Cambridge, U. K. After completing his Ph. D. in 1992, he joined the Solid State Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) as a postdoctoral research associate before taking a faculty position in the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) in 1995. In 2002, he moved to the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of California-Davis (UCD) and also held a joint appointment in the National Center for Electron Microscopy (NCEM) at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL).

Layla MehdiDr. Layla Mehdi is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Liverpool, UK. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Analytical Chemistry and Master’s degree in Electrochemistry from Warsaw University in Poland and her Ph. D. in Chemistry from Miami University, USA. After completing her Ph. D. in 2013, she joined the Physical and Computational Sciences Directorate at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), first as a postdoctoral research associate and in 2016 she became a staff scientist. Dr Mehdi has received numerous of international research awards, such as Material Research Society Postdoctoral Award, Microscopy Society of America Postdoctoral Award, Microscopy & Microanalysis Presidential Award for her pioneering work on the development and application of in-situ liquid electrochemical TEM for battery research. In 2016 she also received Japan Society for Promotion of Science Fellowship allocated in Nagoya University, Japan in collaboration with TOYOTA, Japan to continue the development of these methods.